St. Martin’s Chapter 3 Response

Like Chapter 2, this chapter was also very informative. It gives information on bibliographies, evaluating usefulness and credibility, critical reading and interpretation, synthesizing sources, notes and annotations, as well as quotations, paraphrases and summaries. It was very helpful for me to read this chapter. I have wrote  research papers before many times, but never one like this. Mine have strictly just been to give information. I have never had to write one with a debateable topic, so this is a little more difficult. Also when I have wrote research papers before I have never really been worried about if my information is crediable or not, becuase my teachers never checked for that. Page 35-36 was helpful when reading an article. It list guidlines to help assess the credibility of sources. I will  keep that list in mind when I am reading different sources to determine if they are credible or not. Another thing that I found was helpful were the guildlines for examining potential sources. I usually take my time and read all the way through the sourse to see if it is going to work for my particular topic or not. This wastes a lot of time I have learned. The guidlines say to just read the abstracts, which gives a summary of the whole article. Another thing I was unfamiliar with was knowing when to quote, paraphrase, or summarize. All of the information given in this chapter is useful and is going to help me create a good, crediable research paper with a debatable topic.

~ by knroberts15 on November 17, 2011.

One Response to “St. Martin’s Chapter 3 Response”

  1. Most of the papers that I have written have also been strictly informative and I’m not very good at writing about something that I have to take a side and defend it because I haven’t had much practice at it.

Leave a comment